A manufacturing estimate and the price of a prescription purchase answer different questions. This guide explains two historical research models, then separates their assumptions from the details to confirm in a selected offer. It does not estimate a pharmacy’s margin.
Start with the price you would actually pay and what it covers. Ask which preparation and quantity are supplied, whether care or shipping is billed separately and when another payment is due. A published monthly figure alone does not itemize the pharmacy’s costs.
What a manufacturing estimate includes
Barber and colleagues modeled manufacturing costs using trade-shipment data from January 2016 through March 2023, plus formulation, operating expenses, profit and tax allowances. Estimated monthly cost-based prices for GLP-1 medicines ranged from $0.75 to $72.49. Their market comparison used public prices from 13 countries collected in January 2023.[1] These are historical model outputs, not a quote for your prescription.
Levi and colleagues calculated estimated minimum prices per 30-day course using ingredient, formulation, tax and profit assumptions. They reported semaglutide at $40 versus an $804 U.S. price, and liraglutide at $50 versus $1,418.[2] These published 2023 comparisons do not identify a current compounded prescription’s production cost. The wider question of retail variation is discussed in the price-variation article.
Compare the preparation, not just the molecule
A drug name alone does not identify a comparable purchase. Establish the route, dosage form, concentration, prescribed amount and quantity supplied. A tablet, troche, drops and an injection should not be treated as interchangeable price units merely because a seller uses the same molecule’s name.
When comparing two offers, keep their payment periods and supplied quantities beside the advertised figures. A lower monthly equivalent can require a larger upfront payment; it does not necessarily mean a lower charge for the prescription you would receive. The clinical comparison is discussed in the route comparison, and related offers are collected on the oral board.
Do not use a manufacturing model to assume what is in a compounded preparation or how it is absorbed. Ask for the prescribed formulation, dose and dispensing instructions. For related questions about contents, read the vial-contents article.
Use the Remi Meds review to ask which preparation and supplied quantity a program price describes. Keep the retail purchase separate from assumptions about a pharmacy’s private supply contract.
Use the ShapeIn Rx review to identify the preparation, supplied quantity and any separately billed services in a retail quote. A patient-facing price does not reveal the pharmacy’s private supply cost.
Use the TOM Weight Loss review to compare the prescription quantity and care included in a retail purchase without inferring the pharmacy’s private supply cost.
What a model cannot tell you about an offer
A model is not an invoice from the pharmacy supplying your prescription. Its inputs and assumptions do not establish that pharmacy’s purchase price, operating costs or contract with a platform. Regulatory categories also should not be used as a substitute for a cost breakdown; related distinctions are discussed in the facilities article.
If you want an itemized quote, ask the service to distinguish the medication charge from assessment, membership, shipping and other fees. An advertised bundle may not provide that breakdown. Without it, this guide cannot allocate a selected payment among those items or calculate the pharmacy’s share.
Even an itemized retail invoice describes what you pay, rather than every expense the seller incurs. Avoid subtracting a historical model from a retail quote and calling the difference profit. The two figures may describe different products, quantities, periods and activities.
Availability and the selected dispensing arrangement require their own confirmation. A change in supply conditions does not, by itself, quantify a pharmacy’s costs or a patient’s bill. Background on shortage history is available in the shortage article.
A secret-shopper study surveyed 75 weight-loss clinics and medical spas in West Virginia and Oklahoma during August–October 2025. The states were purposively selected. Researchers identified 23 supplier facilities; four of 21 were not licensed for sterile compounding, and three of 22 had state disciplinary action since 2023.[3] These findings describe that sample, not the supplier for your prescription or a price-quality relationship.
For a specific service, start with the Mint Med review or Mojoon review, then confirm the dispenser for the prescription actually offered to you. Keep that pharmacy contact beside the complete quote so questions about the product and questions about payment reach the appropriate organization. The Southend Pharmacy review separates prescription fulfillment from the prescribing practice’s charges. The Absolute Pharmacy review separates provider portal information from individual prescription charges.
Keep the model’s period and scope in view
A historical manufacturing estimate is not a current price guarantee. When citing one, retain its publication year, modeled product and assumptions. Do not update the year beside an old estimate as though its inputs had been collected again.
The cited antiobesity abstract lists tirzepatide among the medicines searched, but its numerical results do not provide a tirzepatide manufacturing estimate.[2] That limited observation does not establish that no estimate exists elsewhere, and this guide supplies none.
Use the TeleDocs360 review to match the selected dose, supplied quantity and payment interval before comparing retail quotes. A dose-based price does not establish the pharmacy’s ingredient cost.
Use The Aesthetic Concierge review to compare the supplied prescription and included care without inferring the pharmacy’s private production cost from a retail quote.
Dose policy does not disclose ingredient cost
Ask how the selected price changes if the prescribed dose changes. Confirm whether a quoted amount covers one shipment, a stated supply period or multiple payments. The relationship between dose and the retail charge does not disclose the pharmacy’s ingredient cost.
A flat advertised rate and a dose-based rate describe retail terms. Neither identifies a supplier’s margin or proves how a change in drug quantity is financed. For offers categorized by their published dose policy, see the flat-pricing board; confirm the terms of the selected offer before paying.
What this does not establish
Compare the actual charge, any minimum commitment and the quantity supplied. A monthly equivalent is an arithmetic comparison, not necessarily a monthly invoice or a promise of one month’s supply. Related billing questions are discussed in the prepay and membership article.
Compounded drugs are not FDA-approved; the FDA does not verify their safety, effectiveness or quality before marketing.[4] A manufacturing estimate does not establish the quality of a selected prescription. Confirm the dispenser and direct product questions to that pharmacy. For an annual comparison of specified charges, use the cost calculator, keeping its assumptions separate from the pharmacy’s production costs.
Pharmacy disclosure and a retail dose policy answer different questions. The CoreAge Rx review discusses a flat-dose offer whose dispensing pharmacy is not named, while the Fridays review covers a program describing named third-party pharmacies and bundled care. Neither retail presentation reveals the pharmacy’s private supply contract or establishes product quality on its own.